Getting my hands dirty

Garden ready for planting

This last weekend I finally put in my “garden.”  I know, I know . . . it’s more of a flower bed than a garden, but you should see what I get out of this flower bed.  Pretty impressive for apartment dwelling if I say so myself.  This is my first year starting everything from seed.  I worry that I started my tomatoes a bit late, but other than that things are looking good.  If it all comes up then I’ll have tomatoes, eggplant, squash, cucumbers, cantaloupes, radishes, beets, carrots, beans, Swiss chard, corn, lettuce, arugula, spinach, basil, parsley, and cilantro.  I missed a spring planting, but I’m hoping to get some cold weather crops in for a fall harvest.

Garden Planted

This is the garden with my seedling planted.  Here’s to more green and less brown in my next garden update.

As you may have noticed, I am using the square foot gardening method and I highly recommend it to you as well.  Mel Bartholomew’s All New Square Foot Gardening is a great resource, even if you choose not to go the square foot route.  Mel is willing to spell out precisely what to do to have a productive garden, and that can be nice.  But don’t be afraid to break some of his rules (as I have) to suit your needs.  I’m especially excited to try his technique of building vertical supports for tomatoes, cantaloupes, cucumbers, and squash.

 

3 Responses

  1. I’ve read that book as well and look forward to the time I can create my own “Square foot garden”!

  2. How serendipitous. I was just reading last night about square foot gardening in preparation for working in our new garden this weekend. I’m happy to see that you broke some of the rules, as I plan on doing the same and am hoping it won’t ruin my chances at a nice, productive garden. Did you use “Mel’s Mixture” to the letter or did you plant in soil?

  3. I’d say that you have a killer garden considering your urban setting. Well done. All we have is strawberries and dandelions. Last year the neighbor kids ate all of our strawberries before they were red.

Leave a Reply

