Great deal on a compost bin

Earth Machine Composter

I recently discovered that in addition to offering compost for sale, the Southern Utah Valley Solid Waste District also sells the Earth Machine, a great compost bin at a great price.  Most comparable compost bins I have found usually go for at least $100, but we got ours for $30 (by living within their district and getting my brother to buy one with us for the bulk discount).  I’ve been using it for a few weeks now and I’m very pleased with it.

You can buy them from the SUVSWD’s Springville location at 2450 West 400 South (in Springville).  They are only open between 7:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. and accept cash or check.  The facility mostly processes individuals’ deliveries to the dump there, so you may know more about the compost bin than the person you talk to.  Be sure to insist on the price posted on their website—the woman I dealt with was ready to charge me $10 more than she should have.

I’ve been surprised by how much we have been able to put in our compost bin that would have otherwise gone to the landfill.  Not only is this friendlier to the earth, but it is also quite friendly to our garden. 

I highly recommend the earth machine.  It is only sold through local municipalities, so it is quite likely that you can get one at a comparable price even if you don’t live in south Utah Valley.

4 Responses

  1. We have one of these also, provided free by the agricultural center when you take a composting workshop (a $5 fee). We have had it for a year, and I must admit that while it is very useful for somethings, it is not working as well as I had hoped.

    I find that the EM works very well for items the dogs and wildlife will take out of the open bin, and it is excellent for weed debris. However, it does not get wet enough inside to break everything down well and this winter the door burst open from the frost. The door also gets stuck, and it is next to impossible to turn the compost (if you wanted to, which I do not because I am very lazy). On the whole though, I agree that it is better than not composting at all and have recommended it to quite a lot of people I know who live in close suburban areas (where they have neighbors who do not want to look at “trash”).

    Be well & happy composting!
    ~Laura

  2. This looks really cool. Where do you keep it? Have you added any to your garden yet? And mike wants to know if it composts human waste as well. You might not want to invite him over while you have that…..

  3. Brady, could you put some pictures on your site that would give us an idea of how big it is?

  4. See my latest post for photos and placement.

    Mike wishes it would compost human waste. My understanding is that I could put the manure of herbavores in the bin, but we seem to be short on herbavores here.

Leave a Reply

