Mushrooms from the Salt Lake Farmer’s Market

In addike tion to the garlic scapes I got at the Salt Lake Farmer’s Market, I also bought some Hen of the Woods mushrooms.  I’ve been meaning to try some wild mushrooms for some time now and since I have zero expertise at finding and identifying them, I jumped at the chance to buy them.  I decided to put them in an omelet.  I started by sauteing them in some butter and olive oil with a chopped scallion.

 Mushroom Saute

Once they were cooked I set them aside, wiped out the pan, and cooked the omelet.  I must admit that the omelet was not my best, but the mushrooms (along with the Emmenthaler cheese) made up the difference.

 Omelete

Sneak a peek

 Mushrooms exposed

One Response

  1. I would eat this right now. But Brady, I would like to know the reasons why you decided to go with sauteing the specialty mushrooms. Maybe there is no better thing to do with mushrooms but I was wanting to see if they could speak for themselves without butter. Also, where’s the bacon?

    Is there a way you can describe the taste in comparison to regular white mushrooms? I realize this is a blog and I really do need to experience it but if you could humor me . . .

Leave a Reply

